Remembering That Day…

I was debating whether or not I was going to make a post today about September 11th, 2001. I mean, I know everyone will probably do one, but if i don’t do it for whatever reason, it’ll look like I don’t care.

I definitely want you to know I care.

I’m not going to go into a story of what happened, you all already know how it did.
I’m not going to go into the conspiracy theories surrounding what happened, because frankly, those lies are a disgrace to the people who suffered and died that day.
My post isn’t going to be that long either, in fact, it’s already 1/3 over.

I’m going to talk about one thing I learned today about the future Freedom Tower, the building that is already being built at ground zero.

I’m a guy who really, really likes symbolism. It’s cool to see the 13 stripes on the flag and know they represent the 13 original colonies.
If you don’t already know, the top of the freedom tower building (the roof) will be exactly as high as the original twin towers, around 1,368 feet (417 m). The new tower’s spire will reach taller than the original towers’.
The original spire reached to 1,727 feet (526.3 m). The new spire, however, will reach to 1,776 feet (451.3 m)

Did you catch that?
1,776 feet.

I love our country so much.

It’s a great tribute, that in and of itself.

(P.S. I hate how it’s going to register me as logging this in on the 12th [http://daily…2008/09/12/remembering-…]. I can assure you that I logged this on the 11th. Late in the day, yes, but on the 11th.)

/day

Tags: , ,

17 Responses to “Remembering That Day…”

  1. jim Says:

    the ultimate ignorance is the rejection of somthing you know nothing about and refuse to investigate

  2. Johnny Says:

    That’s a beautiful building. I noticed the 1776 in half a second, there’s alot of symbolism in the building and it makes me proud.

  3. John McCollum Says:

    Awesome Beauty of Human Endeavor and Divine Intervention(All of Us) We must move forward for all the inhabitants of Earth.Not the horrors of War and repprecautions.

  4. T.J. Says:

    I agree that the idiotic unfounded conspiracy theories being regurgitated are disrespectful to the Americans that lost their lives that day…

    I like the symbolisms of the specs but I have mixed feelings about the project… do we really want that building there? It looks a bit pompous, doesn’t it?

  5. Zowie Says:

    I think its great that their building on ground zero its like a symbol of moving on and looking forward instead of always looking back. I know it must be hard for some of the people who lost the loved ones but you can’t dwell on things like that; if a runner stopped at the first stone in his path he would never finish a race if you live your life like that you will end up not accomplishing any of your goals in life.

    – I’m 13 years old and trying to
    achieve my goals of being a writer

  6. Annonymous Says:

    I think that the freedom tower sucks. It is an ugly building. What I think should have been done was to rebuild the twin tower exactly as they were with a plaq in the center with all the names of the people and if that would have been to big then they etch the names of the people on the windows with the words we will never forget and that the buildings may be knocked down but our spirits will continue to live on and fight. By rebuilding these towers we show the world that we will not back down. Think about it for a minute the twin towers were attacked before and we repaired and continued on. We should have done it again.

  7. Anthony Says:

    What is ultimately disrespectful to the victims of 9/11 are any thoughts that carrying out a proper scientific investigation into the events on that day is in some way “disrespectful”. I cannot think of anything more noble, or indeed respectful to the victims, than getting an independent body to investigate what REALLY happened on that day. Any person with intelligence can see how preposterous it was to suggest that a man in a cave on the other side of the world could somehow orchestrate an attack on a country with the most sophisticated defense force in the world. U.S. defense could easily see that two commercial planes were not responding and so they could easily have scrambled jets to avert the disaster. What’s more, there has been no scientifically plausible explanation for why WTC7 collapsed at free-fall speed into its footprint even though no plane hit it. No other building in the world has ever collapsed at *free-fall speed* into its own footprint from fire alone. The only buildings that have ever done so are ones that have had explosives implanted into every level and which have been detonated at the same time. A building collapsing according to the pancake theory cannot possibly collapse at free-fall speed because physics says it’s impossible — it would defy the conservation of momentum. I suggest you study physics, like I have, before making such ignorant, sweeping statements that imply people who question what doesn’t seem right are “nutters” or “crazy” etc. It’s attitudes in people like you which I find disgusting.

  8. sexy & intellectuel Says:

    I can not resist noting, that you incorrectly calculated the height of the new spire. As you falsely state that it would be 451,3 metres, I must correct your mistake, it is actually 541,32 metres long. Thank you.

  9. lt78 Says:

    “sexy & intellectuel”

    There’s a joke if I ever saw one.

  10. Julie Says:

    Ummmm Anthony.. why do you feakos try to drag your psycho THEORIES everywhere?? and that is all you have is theories dude.. You have no proof.. and guess what.. there are tons and tons of EVIDENCE to show what happened but people like you will choose to ignore it for all of time because it doesn’t fit in with your THEORIES… There is a reason your kind are called “Conspiracy THEORISTS”..

    Anonymous.. I agree that they have built the towers back how they were in appearance.. just change the sructural workings of it.. But the new one is pretty in its own way.. its just not the towers that were..

  11. Julie Says:

    sorry.. *should* have built them back the way they were..

  12. Titan Says:

    As a U.K citizen my opinion doesn’t really matter but in a way I’m glad they didn’t rebuild the twin towers. Those two buildings really were a thing of beauty, but just a picture of them now gives me cold shivers as I imagine a plane going in and people falling out.

    I don’t know if the design has changed but the early freedom tower looked awful like a fat twisted tower, kinda like the gerkin building completly butt humps our London skyline. They shouldn’t be allowed to build pieces of crap like that, looks like the easter bunny’s house. Hope it all gets settled.

    Love to America from the U.K

    p.s, conspiracy theorists, until it becomes a conspiracy fact shut the hell up.

  13. tony gilmore Says:

    This building is wrong,the orginial bathtub was built for the twin towers,instead they began construction on the freedom tower,the WTC memorial the trasportation hub and the wtc memorial,and other office towers.I think this project should be stopped.

  14. Baha Says:

    Do u guys think ur the smartest people who can decide the right things only. I believe there were also more knowledgeable people who considered the design of building and came up with a decision to make it so that would give the best positive impacts to people who lost their lovely persons. I also agree if they would have built the same Towers so we would always remember the occurance, the moment, and unforgettable loss which will never leaves out our thoughts. However i guess they didn’t want us to keep the pain forever in order to move forward. I might be wrong but just think about it how long we are going to suffer? there is always something we lose in this life and it should be gone some day to let us continue living.

  15. Baha Says:

    Do u guys think ur the smartest people who can decide the right things only. I believe there were also more knowledgeable people who considered the design of building and came up with a decision to make it so that would give the best positive impacts to people who lost their lovely persons. I also agree if they would have built the same Towers so we would always remember the occurance, the moment, and unforgettable loss which will never leaves out our thoughts. However i guess they didn’t want us to keep the pain forever in order to move forward. I might be wrong but just think about it how long we are going to suffer? there is always something we lose in this life and it should be gone some day to let us continue living!!!

  16. John Says:

    The original towers should have been rebuilt only bigger and stronger. Had it been me you’d have two towers, not 1776 feet tall, but 2001 feet tall for the year 9/11 happened. This Freedom tower is pathetic. But i have to admit, NY sky line will look sweet with it.. but it says nothing as far as our countries drive to be the best.

  17. Michelle Says:

    What people like John don’t realize is that building towers cost MONEY. Money that this country barely has because of the massive national debt we have. the original twin towers cost $400 million to build… half a billion dollars and that was back in the 1970s. Using an inflation calculator it is equivalent to $1,940,656,630 today.
    My point is it’s very expensive to do these projects so it is nearly impossible for TWO towers (at the exact replica or taller) on ground zero let alone one huge building which would cost around half a billion dollars to build. I think the structure is great and I’m glad it’s not the same as the original because it would remind too much of the horror. Instead this building has symbolism and pays respects to those who lost their lives that day.

Leave a Reply

